Station: [8] Historisch Liebegg

  • Hexenmuseum Schweiz

Room 8

Castle Liebegg was built during the second half of the 12th century, when a branch of the Lords of Trostburg split off and at a distance of only half a kilometer a new ancestral seat was built. These gentlemen of Liebegg, mentioned for the first time in 1241, were a ministerial family of the counts of Habsburg-Laufenburg, later the main line of the Habsburgs. The first building was replaced by the "new castle" in the second half of the 13th century. From 1318 to 1371, the Knights of Glarus from Zurich were involved in half of the rule.

From 1415 the Liebegg was in the dominion of the city of Bern. The successor of Liebegger died in 1433 and their possession fell by inheritance to the Lords of Luternau. These were an old noble family from Luthern near Willisau and amongst the most influental families of the city of Bern from the 16th century.

In 1602, the distinguished Escher family from Zurich acquired the Liebegg estate.

In 1616 Graviseth, originally from Heidelberg, followed.

From 1668 to 1709, the rule was in the possession of the closely related lords of Landenberg and returned by exchange back to the family Graviseth.

By marriage with a daughter of the Graviseth familiy, Liebegg came in 1764 in the possession of the influential family of Diesbach from Bern. They lost all their sovereign rights after the March invasion of the Frenchmen in March 1798.

After 1875 the industrialist family Hunziker from Aarau had bought the castle, it was subjected 1907 to a thorough renovation. In 1946, the castle became the property of the canton of Aargau and today serves as a conference and cultural center.

Station: [8] Historisch Liebegg

  • Hexenmuseum Schweiz

Das Schloss Liebegg entstand während der zweiten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts, als sich ein Zweig der Herren von Trostburg abspaltete und in einer Entfernung von lediglich einem halben Kilometer einen neuen Stammsitz errichtete. Diese erstmals 1241 erwähnten Herren von Liebegg waren ein Ministerialengeschlecht der Grafen von Habsburg-Laufenburg, später der Hauptlinie der Habsburger. Das erste Gebäude wurde in der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts durch die «neue Burg» ersetzt. Von 1318 bis 1371 waren die Ritter von Glarus aus Zürich zur Hälfte an der Herrschaft beteiligt.
Ab 1415 lag die Liebegg im Herrschaftsbereich der Stadt Bern. Das Geschlecht der Liebegger starb im Jahr 1433 aus und ihr Besitz fiel durch Erbschaft an die Herren von Luternau. Diese waren ein altes Adelsgeschlecht aus Luthern bei Willisau und gehörten ab dem 16. Jahrhundert zu den einflussreichsten Familien der Stadt Bern.
Im Jahr 1602 erwarb die vornehme Familie Escher aus Zürich die Herrschaft Liebegg.
1616 folgten die aus Heidelberg stammenden Graviseth.
Von 1668 bis 1709 war die Herrschaft im Besitz der nahe verwandten Herren von Landenberg und gelangte durch Tausch wieder an die Familie Graviseth.
Durch die Heirat mit einer Graviseth-Tochter kam die Liebegg 1764 in den Besitz der einflussreichen Familie von Diesbach aus Bern die nach dem Einmarsch der Franzhosen im März 1798 ihre Herrschaftsrechte verloren.
Nachdem 1875 die Industriellenfamilie Hunziker aus Aarau das Schloss gekauft hatte, wurde es bis 1907 einer gründlichen Sanierung unterzogen. 1946 ging das Schloss in den Besitz des Kantons Aargau über und dient heute als Tagungs- und Kulturzentrum.