Station: [15] D – Pyrex Glass: „Max + Moritz“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

You may or may not recognise the well-known „Max and Moritz“ salt and pepper pots designed by the Bauhaus student, professor and industrial designer, Wilhelm Wagenfeld. He designed them in 1953 for the Württemberg metal ware factory, WMF for short, in Geislingen. Wagenfeld’s aim was to create workable designs for useful household condiments, without superfluous flourishes that were suited to mass production and everybody’s pocket!

Sprecher

Thus „Max und Moritz,“ have a robust shape that narrows in the middle that stops the salt and pepper grains getting stuck together and allows them to be easily sprinkled. The large opening makes refilling easy and the pressure lid can be opened with a simple press and put back on in the same way.

Sprecherin

Wagenfeld first got to grips with glass when he worked as the artistic director of the Jena Schott & Associates Glassworks in the 1930s. His designs, such as the glass tea service, egg timer or the heat- resistant vegetable and baking form series were trend setting and can still be found in almost every household today.

Sprecher

Borosilicate glass invented by Otto Schott during the 1920s, otherwise known as duran or pyrex glass, found its way into the German household under the name of „Jenaer Glas.“ Before this the transparent, extreme heat and temperature resistant glass had conquered the laboratories of the world as „Jenaer technical glass.“ Schott became a large industrial concern with the production of glass cylinders for paraffin or kerosene lamps, but when the light bulb was introduced; the production of glass cylinders was presented with such strong competition that new market niches had to be found. So, designers such as Heinz Löffelhardt, Gerhard Marcks and Wilhelm Wagenfeld designed Jenaer, heat-resistant glass in Bauhaus style for everyday use at home... And they marketed this under the slogan: „from the oven to the table.“

Station: [15] D – Duranglas: „Max + Moritz“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Wer kennt sie nicht – die bekannten Salz- und Pfefferstreuer „Max und Moritz“ des Bauhaus-Schülers, Professors und Industriedesigners Wilhelm Wagenfeld. Er entwarf sie 1953 für die in Geislingen ansässige Württembergische Metallwarenfabrik, kurz WMF. Wagenfelds Ziel war es, brauchbares Haushaltsgeschirr im funktionstüchtigen Design zu entwerfen: ohne überflüssige Schnörkel, geeignet für die Serienherstellung und für jeden Kunden leistbar.

Sprecher

So zeigen sich auch „Max und Moritz“: Ihre Form verleiht Standfestigkeit. Die Verengung in der Mitte lockert Salz und Pfeffer auf und hält es damit streufähig. Die große Öffnung erleichtert das Einfüllen und der Steckdeckel lässt sich durch einfachen Druck abnehmen und wieder aufsetzen.

Sprecherin

Erstmals mit dem Werkstoff Glas auseinandergesetzt hat sich Wagenfeld in den 1930er Jahren, als er in Jena als künstlerischer Leiter für das Jenaer Glaswerk Schott und Genossen arbeitete. Seine Entwürfe wie das gläserne Teeservice, das Eierkochglas oder die Serie feuerfester Gemüse- und Backschüsseln waren Stil prägend und sind bis heute fast in jedem Haushalt zu finden.

Sprecher

Unter dem Namen „Jenaer Glas“ fand in den 1920er Jahren das von Otto Schott erfundene Borosilicatglas, das Duranglas, Eingang in den Haushalt. Das transparente, extrem hitze- und temperaturbeständige Glas eroberte zuvor als „Jenaer Geräteglas“ die Laboratorien der Welt. Mit der Massenherstellung von Glaszylindern für die Petroleumlampe wurde Schott zum industriellen Großbetrieb. Doch mit der Einführung der Glühbirne bekam die Herstellung von Glaszylindern derartige Konkurrenz, dass neue Marktlücken gefunden werden mussten: Im Stil des Bauhauses entwarfen nun Designer wie Heinz Löffelhardt, Gerhard Marcks und Wilhelm Wagenfeld ein neues Haushaltsglas aus feuerfestem Jenaer Glas. Sie vermarkteten es unter dem Slogan „Vom Herd auf den Tisch“.