Station: [16] D – Sword

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

There is really supposed to have been a prince from Wertheim who was murdered with a glass sword like this one here. He was called Prince Dominik Marquard Sebastian Christian of Löwenstein-Wertheim-Rochefort.

Sprecher

In 1735 this prince is supposed to have stayed in Venice. At the time trade had not been a lucrative business for a long time and sections of the Venetian aristocracy were poverty stricken. But not our prince from Wertheim. He threw noisy parties and surrounded himself with beautiful ladies. It was only a matter of time before people began to begrudge him his frivolous lifestyle, and murder was a popular medium used to eliminate disagreeable opponents at the time!

Sprecherin

But our prince must have been protected by magic, because several murder attempts were made before he was killed. The first assassin ambushed the prince in the dark with a dagger, but this rebounded off him as if he were wearing chain mail. And the bullets from the pistol used in the second murder attempt didn’t seem to touch him because he escaped uninjured, even poison seemed to have no effect whatsoever.

Sprecher

It was only when his servant betrayed his secret to the Venetians that he was killed. The Prince was supposed to have learnt incredible skills from a Spessart poacher that rendered him immune to poison and metal. The Venetians immediately had the glassmakers in Murano make a glass dagger and this is what became Prince Dominik Marquard Sebastian Christian of Löwenstein-Wertheim-Rochefort’s end!

Station: [16] D – Degen

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Da soll es doch tatsächlich einen Fürsten aus Wertheim gegeben haben, der mit einem Glasdegen wie diesem hier ermordet worden ist. Geheißen habe der Fürst Dominik Marquard Sebastian Christian von Löwenstein-Wertheim-Rochefort.

Sprecher

1735 soll sich dieser Fürst in Venedig aufgehalten haben. Der Handel war damals längst kein so lukratives Geschäft mehr und Teile des venezianischen Adels waren verarmt. Nicht jedoch der Wertheimer Fürst. Er feierte rauschende Feste und umgab sich mit schönen Damen. Dass dies dem Fürsten geneidet wurde, war nur eine Frage der Zeit – und Mord ein damals gängiges Mittel um unliebsame Gegner auszuschalten!

Sprecherin

Unser Fürst muss jedoch von Zauber umgeben gewesen sein. Denn es bedurfte mehrerer Mordversuche, bis es endlich gelang ihn zu töten. Der erste Meuchelmörder lauerte dem Fürsten im Dunkeln mit einem Dolch auf. Dieser sei an ihm abgeprallt, gerade so als trage er ein Kettenhemd. Auch die Kugeln aus der Pistole beim zweiten Mordversuch scheinen dem Fürsten nichts ausgemacht zu haben. Denn auch dieses Mal sei er unverletzt entkommen – ebenso als man Gift nachgereicht habe.

Sprecher

Erst durch Verrat gelang es schließlich den Fürsten zu töten: Sein Diener verriet den Venezianern, dass der Fürst von einem Wilddieb aus dem Spessart unglaubliche Fertigkeiten erlernt habe, die ihn immun gegen Gift und Metall machten. Sogleich ließen die Venezianer von den Glasmachern in Murano einen gläsernen Dolch fertigen. Solcherart ausgerüstet wurde Fürst Dominik Marquard Sebastian Christian von Löwenstein-Wertheim-Rochefort letztendlich Opfer einer Glas-Waffe!