Station: [19] E – Enamelled Glass: Imperial Eagle Tankards

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

This large tankard is called an imperial eagle tankard. It is 31 cm tall and can hold almost 4 L of liquid. From the 16th to the 18th century it was one of the most popular drinking vessels. Secular and spiritual dignitaries such as Kaisers, electoral princes and popes used these enormous glass containers to tell the story of the development of the Empire in pictorial form.

Sprecherin

In doing this they made use of the double-headed imperial eagle, which is also known as the quaternion eagle, because imperial states with a common attribute were grouped together into fictitious groups of four: Quaternions. There was the group of electoral princes, the margraves and so on. In the Eagle’s pinions you’ll be able to see the 56 coats of arms. These stand for the individual groups of the imperial constitution. Right at the top near the eagle’s head are the electoral princes’ and the popes’ coats of arms.

Sprecher

Owners of imperial eagle tankards were predominantly members of the smaller estates of the Empire such as patricians, guild members and craftsmen to whom the outwardly expression of their connections to the empire and its links, was extremely important. And what better way to do this than passing round an imperial eagle tankard during a social glass-raising?

Sprecherin

The imperial eagle tankards were also valued for their decorative effect and their vibrant enamel colours. The enamelling technique involves burning finely ground glass onto the finished glass at 800°C. It was a technique already used by Syrian Glass painters during antiquity. Enamelling came to Germany during the 16th century via Venice and remained popular until into the 18th-century.

Station: [19] E – Emailglas: Reichsadlerhumpen

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

Dieser große Humpen heißt Reichsadlerhumpen. Er ist 31 Zentimeter hoch und hat ein Fassungsvermögen von fast 4 Litern. Vom 16. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert war er einer der beliebtesten Trinkgefäße. Weltliche und geistliche Würdenträger wie Kaiser, Kurfürsten und Päpste nutzten den riesigen Glaskörper, um dem Volk in bildhafter Form den Aufbau des Reiches zu erklären.

Sprecherin

Dabei bedienten sie sich des doppelköpfigen Reichsadlers, der auch als Quaternionenadler bezeichnet wird. Und zwar deshalb, weil man diejenigen Reichsstände, deren Mitglieder ein gemeinsames Merkmal hatten, in fiktiven Vierergruppen, den Quaternionen, zusammenschloss. Es gab die Gruppe der Kurfürsten, der Markgrafen und so weiter. In den Schwingen des Adlers können Sie 56 Wappen erkennen. Sie stehen für die einzelnen Gruppen der Reichsverfassung. Ganz oben, in der Nähe des Adlerkopfes, sieht man die Wappen der Kurfürsten und Päpste.

Sprecher

Besitzer von Reichsadlerhumpen waren meist Angehörige der kleineren Reichsstände wie Patrizier, das Zunftbürgertum und Handwerker. Ihnen war es besonders wichtig, ihre Verbundenheit mit dem Reich und seinen Gliedern zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Und wie konnten sie dieses besser tun als durch das Herumreichen eines Reichsadlerhumpens beim gesellschaftlichen Zutrinken?

Sprecherin

Geschätzt wurden die Reichadlerhumpen auch wegen ihrer dekorativen Wirkung und der leuchtenden Emaille-Farben. Bei dieser Technik wird fein zermahlenes Glas bei 800 Grad Celsius auf das fertige Glas eingebrannt. Dies machten sich bereits syrische Glasmaler in der Antike zunutze. Im 16. Jahrhundert gelangte die Emaille-Malerei über Venedig nach Deutschland und hielt sich hier bis ins 18. Jahrhundert.