Station: [20] F – Bottle: „Chanel No. 5“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

The smoke from burning plants and animal fats originally created fragrant Perfumes and this is where the name perfume comes from, from „per fumo,“ – „ through smoke“.

Sprecherin

Glass containers were used to package these captivating perfumes and prevent them from losing their fragrance from very early on. During the Christian Middle Ages using perfumes and anointing the dead was condemned as a pagan Jewish custom. This meant that the trading of healing herbs and perfumed medicines that were sold in glass vials and small bottles flourished in monasteries. In the 16th century perfume arrived at the European Courts via Katharina de Medici, and with it, a reawakened sense for beauty and personal grooming.

Sprecher

Perfume is still produced today in the town of Grasse in the south of France. Since Katharina de Medici introduced perfume to Europe this once tanner’s town has developed into a world-famous perfume centre. The tanners originally used the perfume to cover-up the awful smell of the leather.

Sprecherin

The production and sales of perfume was in the hands of the chemists, haberdashery traders and the glove makers. They poured the valuable beauty water out of large bottles into small perfume containers. The rich and beautiful used their own small bottles which, depending on the fashion, were designed in romantic or geometrically abstract shapes. In 1921, a sober, cool-looking bottle revolutionised the whole perfume industry with a novel, artificially produced perfume. It was called Chanel No. 5.

Sprecher

To get help with the design of her first brand of perfume, Coco Chanel turned to Ernest Beaux of the Parfums Rallet company, who also worked with the court perfumier to the Russian Zsars. Chanel wanted to create her own scent, not a mixture or an imitation of something from nature. Beaux Presented her with 10 numbered perfume samples, which Chanel smelt and selected „No. 5“. The minimalist crystal glass bottle was a further marketing strategy, which made Coco Chanel’s perfume the most famous brand all over the world. And Marilyn Monroe’s comment certainly contributed to its fame:

Sprecherin

An interviewer asked her: „What do you wear to bed?“ To which she replied: „ Chanel No. 5“.

Station: [20] F – Flakon: „Chanel No. 5“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

Wohlriechende Duftstoffe entstanden ursprünglich durch Verräuchern von Pflanzen und Tierfetten. Daher auch der Name Parfüm, von per fumo – „durch Rauch“.

Sprecherin

Um diese bezaubernden Duftstoffe zu verpacken und am „Verduften“ zu hindern, wurden schon sehr früh Glasgefäße verwendet. Das christliche Mittelalter verbot den Gebrauch von Düften und die Salbung von Toten als heidnischen Brauch der Juden. Dagegen florierte in den Klöstern der Handel mit heilenden Kräutern und parfümierten Arzneimitteln, die in gläsernen Ampullen und Fläschchen verkauft wurden. Mit Katharina de Medici kam das Parfüm im 16. Jahrhundert an die Höfe Europas – und mit ihm der wiedererwachte Sinn für Schönheit und Körperpflege.

Sprecher

In der südfranzösischen Stadt Grasse wird noch heute Parfüm hergestellt. Das einstige Gerberstädtchen hat sich seit der Einführung des Parfüms in Europa durch Katharina de Medici zum weltberühmten Parfümzentrum entwickelt. Mit Parfüm suchten die Gerber den üblen Geruch des Leders zu übertünchen.

Sprecherin

Herstellung und Verkauf des Parfüms lag in den Händen der Apotheker, Kurzwarenhändler und Handschuhmacher. Aus großen Flaschen füllten sie kostbare Schönheitswässer in kleinere Duftgefäße um. Die Reichen und Schönen benutzten ihre eigenen Flakons, die je nach Mode romantisch-verspielt oder geometrisch-abstrakt geformt waren. 1921 revolutionierte ein sachlich kühler Flakon mit einem völlig neuartigen, künstlich hergestellten Duft die gesamte Parfümindustrie: Chanel No. 5.

Sprecher

Um ihre erste Parfümmarke zu entwerfen, wandte sich Coco Chanel an die Firma Parfums Rallet, die auch mit dem Hofparfümeur der russischen Zaren, Ernest Beaux, arbeitete. Chanel wollte einen eigenen Duft, keine Mischung und Nachahmung aus der Natur. Beaux präsentierte ihr zehn nummerierte Parfümmuster. Chanel schnupperte und tippte auf die „No. 5“. Der minimalistische Kristallglasflakon war eine weitere Marketingmaßnahme, die Coco Chanels Parfüm zum bekanntesten der Welt werden ließ. Dazu trug sicherlich auch Marilyn Monroes berühmte Aussage bei:

Sprecherin

„Zum Schlafen trage ich nur ein paar Tropfen Chanel No. 5“.