Station: [24] G – Spessart Glass: Forest Glass

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

During the late Middle Ages and early modern era Spessart had around 150 small glass foundries and was one of the most prominent glassmaking areas. From the 14th century onwards the glassmakers in the large forest areas north of the Alps produced masses of green Forest Glass. Beakers, rummers, „pass,“ glasses, thumb glasses and bottles. The foundries were located in the middle of the forest because they used enormous amounts of wood, which is why the glass that was produced in them is called Forest Glass.

Sprecherin

The characteristic green colour of this glass comes from the iron oxide particles in the sand used as the main raw material for the molten glass. Glass was a very expensive article of daily use at the time because of the high-energy requirements needed to produce it and wood continued to be exclusively used for this purpose in Spessart into the 19th-century. The foundries used wood both for powering the furnaces and as potash to reduce smelting temperatures. Potash was made from Birchwood and huge amounts of wood had to be bought at high prices from surrounding forests. Thus territorial lords made an excellent living by selling it.

Sprecher

In order to demonstrate the enormous energy requirements to you the Royal Löwenstein-Wertheim-Freudenberg’sche Administration gave the museum a 150 cm-high beech wood tree trunk with a diameter of 50 cm, weighing 200 kg, with which Spessart glassmakers would have produced just one kilogram of glass: or five small beakers. Nowadays 800 kg of glass, that’s eight times the amount, could be produced from this tree trunk.

Station: [24] G – Glas aus dem Spessart: Waldglas

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecher

Der Spessart gehörte mit rund 150 Hüttenplätzen zu den bedeutendsten Glasmachergebieten des Spätmittelalters und der frühen Neuzeit. Die Glasmacher nördlich der Alpen produzierten in den großen Waldgebieten seit dem 14. Jahrhundert massenhaft grünes Waldglas: Becher, Römer, Passgläser, Daumenhumpen und Flaschen. Wegen des enormen Holzbedarfs standen die Glashütten mitten im Wald. Daher hießen die Hütten auch Waldglashütten. Das Glas, das in diesen Hütten hergestellt wurde, hieß Waldglas.

Sprecherin

Auffallendes Merkmal dieser Gläser ist die grüne Farbe, die auf Eisenoxyd-Anteilen im Sand beruht, dem Hauptrohstoff für die Glasschmelze. Dass Glas als Gebrauchsgegenstand damals noch sehr teuer war, lag vor allem an dem hohen Energiebedarf. Im Spessart wurde dieser bis ins 19. Jahrhundert ausschließlich mit Holz gedeckt. Die Hütten benötigten Holz für die Glasschmelzöfen und für die Herstellung von Pottasche zur Senkung der Schmelztemperaturen. Pottasche stellten sie aus Buchenholz her. Riesige Holzmengen mussten teuer aus den umliegenden Wäldern eingekauft werden. Die Landesherrschaft verdiente also kräftig am Holzverkauf mit.

Sprecher

Um den enormen Energiebedarf anschaulich zu machen, hat die Fürstlich Löwenstein-Wertheim-Freudenberg’sche Verwaltung dem Glasmuseum einen 200 Kilogramm schweren und 150 Zentimeter hohen Baumstamm aus Buchenholz mit einem Durchmesser von 50 Zentimetern gestiftet. Lediglich ein Kilogramm Glas konnten die Spessarter Glasmacher damit herstellen. Daraus sind gerade einmal fünf kleine Becher entstanden. Heute würde man mit diesem Baumstamm 800 Kilogramm Glas erzeugen können, also die 800fache Menge von damals.