Station: [25] G – Spessart Glass: Maggi Bottle

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

This is 125 years old and still ‚in fashion,’ – the Maggi bottle with its unmistakable shape and legendary design: a square body, long neck, brown glass, yellow label with red writing and brick-red top that replaced the gold top in 1946. It holds a spicy liquid sauce with a wheat base and can be found in restaurants, as well as In, believe it or not, every sixth German household.

Sprecher

The founder of the Maggi company discovered the „wonder sauce,“ on 11th June 1886 in Frauenfeld in Switzerland. Malnutrition, stomach disorders and child deaths were widespread at the time and Julius Maggi, a businessman with a social conscience, felt called to improve working families diets with a better supply of nutrients. The result was the Maggi seasoning in a bottle that has not changed to this date, as a cheap replacement for meat extract. 122 years ago, the bottles were produced in the Spessart glass foundry in Lohr, just a stone’s throw from Wertheim. The foundry now belongs to the international Gerresheimer Group, „Gerresheimer Lohr GmbH,“ a glass manufacturer, which still produces the Maggi bottles today.

Sprecherin

If Julius Maggi were still alive, he’d be delighted to know that 125 years later, 10.3 million kilos of his Maggi seasoning, is still being made for the German market today. And that what he once invented to replace meat extract fills 33.8 million Maggi bottles that end up in kitchens all over Germany.

Station: [25] G – Glas aus dem Spessart: Maggiflasche

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Sie ist 125 Jahre alt und immer noch „en vogue“ – die Maggi-Flasche mit ihrer unverkennbaren Flaschenform und dem legendären Design: quadratischer Körper, langer Hals, braunes Glas, das Etikett gelb mit roter Schrift und seit 1946 mit siegelrotem statt goldenem Käppchen. Mit dem Inhalt in Form einer flüssigen Würzsoße auf Weizenbasis findet man sie in Restaurants ebenso wie in sage und schreibe jedem sechsten deutschen Haushalt.

Sprecher

Erfunden hat das „Wundersößchen“ der Maggi-Firmengründer höchstpersönlich, und zwar am 11. Juni 1886 im Schweizerischen Frauenfeld. Damals waren Unterernährung, Magenkrankheiten und Kindersterblichkeit weit verbreitet. Julius Maggi, ein Unternehmer mit sozialem Gewissen, sah sich daher berufen, die Ernährung von Arbeiterfamilien durch bessere Nährstoffversorgung zu verbessern. Heraus kam die Maggi-Würze als preiswerter Ersatz für Fleischextrakt in einer bis heute typischen Flasche. Nur einen Katzensprung von Wertheim entfernt wurde sie vor 122 Jahren erstmals in den Spessart-Glaswerken in Lohr hergestellt. Das inzwischen zur internationalen Gerresheimer Group gehörende Glaswerk „Gerresheimer Lohr GmbH“ produziert neben anderen Behältergläsern auch heute noch die Maggi-Flasche.

Sprecherin

Julius Maggi würde sich freuen, wenn er wüsste, dass auch nach 125 Jahren 10,3 Millionen Kilo seiner einst als Fleischextrakt-Ersatz gedachten Maggi-Würze für den deutschen Markt produziert werden. Abgefüllt in mehr als 33,8 Millionen Maggi-Flaschen landen sie dann in Deutschlands Küchen.