Station: [33] M – Measuring with Glass: „Toad“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

The reproduction of this glass toad possibly came from a Wertheim Technical College for Glasswork examination project during the 1970s. Galileo Galilei developed the original at the University of Florence during the 17th century. The „Toad,“ makes reference to the more than 60 years of thermometer production in Wertheim. Thermometer glassblowers were the first glassblowers to settle in Wertheim in 1948 in the course of the flow of refugees out of Thuringia. Among them were the thermometer companies Arno Amarell and Karl Schneider that still exist today.

Sprecher

The „Toad“ was designed to be bound to a feverish patient’s arm and was the first verifiable thermometer for measuring fever based on a principle of physics that the density of liquids decreases when temperature rises. This means the buoyancy of the hollow glass balls swimming in the liquid is reduced so that they sink. The higher the body temperature, the more the glass balls sink. If five of the altogether seven balls in the alcohol in the „toad,“ sink, the patient has a fever.

Sprecherin

Since the 1990’s the „toad“ has enjoyed a revival in the form of the Celsius, or Fahrenheit „Galileo“-Thermometer, which was originally produced in Switzerland, but later in thousands in Wertheim. The Chinese were also quick to recognise its bestseller potential.

Station: [33] M – Messen mit Glas: „Kröte“

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Vermutlich als Examensarbeit an der Glasfachschule Wertheim in den 1970er Jahren entstand die Nachbildung dieser gläsernen „Schildkröte“. Das Original wurde im 17. Jahrhundert von Galileo Galilei an der Universität von Florenz entwickelt. Die „Kröte“ verweist auf die mehr als 60jährige Thermometerproduktion in Wertheim. Thermometer-Glasbläser waren die ersten Glasbläser, die sich 1948 im Zuge des Flüchtlingsstroms aus Thüringen in Wertheim niederließen. Unter ihnen waren die heute noch existierenden Thermometerfirmen Arno Amarell und Karl Schneider.

Sprecher

Die „Kröte“ war dazu gedacht, einem fiebrigen Patienten zur Messung auf den Arm gebunden zu werden. Dieses erste nachweislich bekannte Fieberthermometer basiert auf dem physikalischen Prinzip, dass sich die Dichte von Flüssigkeiten bei steigender Temperatur verringert. Damit nimmt der Auftrieb der in der Flüssigkeit schwimmenden Hohlglaskugeln ab, so dass diese sinken. Je höher also die Körpertemperatur, desto mehr Kugeln sinken nach unten. Sinkt bei der „Kröte“ die fünfte der insgesamt sieben Kugeln im Weingeist ab, hat der Patient Fieber.

Sprecherin

Seit den 1990er Jahren erfährt diese „Kröte“ eine Reminiszenz in dem ursprünglich in der Schweiz, später dann in Wertheim tausendfach produzierten „Galileo“-Thermometer in Celsius- bzw. Fahrenheitgraden. Dieses wurde auch bald von chinesischen Herstellern als Verkaufsschlager erkannt.