Station: [4] A - Aryballos

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

The glass „Aryballos“ is 2500 years old and is one of the oldest exhibits in the Wertheim Museum of Glass. „Aryballos“ is Greek and denotes a spherically shaped oil bottle made of clay. The „Aryballos“ was the preferred oil container of Greek athletes. They would attach it to their wrists with a band and carry it with them on their way to wrestling training. After taking part in the sport they would use the oil to cleanse their bodies by rubbing it into their skin so that it absorbed the dirt. They would then remove both oil and dirt with a scraper known as a „Strigilis“.

Sprecher

„Ariballoi“ made of glass were luxury items during antiquity, not only because of their complex production process, but also because glass was very precious, and they were therefore only used for rare oils and ointments. Earthenware contains quartz and it was earthenware makers who purely by chance, discovered the first fully melted glass object. From 5 BC onwards these craftspeople processed quartz sand, soda and limestone to create glass-like objects, known as Egyptian faience. Antique glass production was confined to a minority of production centres affiliated to the royal court. The raw glass produced there was sold all over the world in coloured chunks, shards and bars and was then worked into inserts, pearls and amulets. Glass was considered a valuable alternative to gemstones that were both expensive and difficult to obtain.

Sprecherin

The first glass receptacles were made in around 1500 BC. They were made from a fire-resistant mixture of clay, sand and organic material and the mould had to be tediously scratched out by hand. This meant that each and every receptacle was made from a new mould. Despite this, the containers were actively produced from the mid 6th century BC in the east Mediterranean area. And this „Aryballos“, also dates back to this time.

Station: [4] A – Aryballos

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Der „Aryballos“ aus Glas ist 2500 Jahre alt. Es handelt sich um eines der ältesten Exponate des Glasmuseums Wertheim. „Aryballos“ ist griechisch und bezeichnet eine kugelförmige Ölflasche aus Ton. Der „Aryballos“ war das bevorzugte Ölgefäß griechischer Sportler. Sie befestigten es mit einem Band um ihr Handgelenk und trugen es auf ihrem Weg zur Ringkampfschule. Nach dem Sport rieben sie ihren Körper mit dem Öl ein, um ihn zu reinigen. Dazu benutzten sie einen Kratzer, den „Strigilis“, um den vom Öl aufgesogenen Schmutz von ihrem Körper zu entfernen.

Sprecher

„Ariballoi“ aus Glas waren in der Antike absolute Luxusartikel für seltene Öle und Salben. Nicht nur wegen ihres aufwändigen Herstellungsverfahrens, sondern schon allein aufgrund des kostbaren Glases. Das erste voll durchgeschmolzene Glasobjekt war als Zufallsprodukt der Quarzkeramiker entstanden. Diese verarbeiteten seit dem 5. Jahrtausend vor Christus in Mesopotamien und später in Ägypten Quarzsand, Soda und Kalk zu glasartigen Objekten, der Fayence. Die antike Glasproduktion beschränkte sich auf wenige, an den Königshof gebundene Produktionszentren. Das dort hergestellte und weltweit gehandelte Rohglas in Form farbiger Brocken, Scherben und Barren wurde vor Ort zu Einlagen, Perlen und Amuletten verarbeitet. Glas galt als kostbarer Ersatz für die teuren und schwer erhältlichen Edelsteine.

Sprecherin

Um 1500 vor Christus entstanden die ersten Glasgefäße. Diese wurden um einen feuerfesten Kern aus Ton, Sand und organischem Material geformt. Der Kern musste anschließend mühsam herausgekratzt werden. Jedes Gefäß erforderte einen neuen Kern als Form. Eine rege Produktion solcher kerngeformter Gefäße setzte Mitte des 6. Jahrhunderts vor Christus im östlichen Mittelmeergebiet ein. Aus dieser Zeit stammt auch unser „Aryballos“.