Station: [9] B – Bohemain Glass: Diamanté Tiara

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

This diamante tiara created for the glittering world of Paris in the 1950s and 60s weighs two kilograms. It took several weeks to produce because the up to 500 diamante stones were set one by one into special clasps on the frame. So it’s hard to believe that a costumed lady of the Parisian review Theatres; the Folie Bergères and Moulin Rouge was still able to dance across the stage with an almost erotic and gracious ease when wearing one. The diamante tiara has been providing a taste of past Parisian glamour in the Wertheim museum of glass since 1998.

Sprecher

And it does so with thanks to Reinhard Seufert, a collector from Stuttgart who took part in the production of the shimmering tiaras for years. At the time Seufert was the first German fashion photographer to work for the German „Elegante Welt,“ lifestyle magazine that was founded in Berlin in 1910. He found his models in the fashion metropolis of Paris and was so fascinated by the glamorous world of show business, that he got involved in the production of the glittering diamante jewellery.

Sprecherin

The glass stones, that shimmer in all the colours of the rainbow, came from the Swarovski Company, that is now located in Wattens in Austrian Tyrol. The company is famous for its perfectly cut, “artificial crystals,” made of flawless glass. Daniel Swarovski, the company founder, came from Bohemia. And he invented the revolutionary electric cutting machine in 1892, which enabled him to cut a larger amount of crystals with much greater precision than was possible by hand.

Station: [9] B – Böhmisches Glas: Strasskrone

  • Glasmuseum Wertheim

Sprecherin

Zwei Kilogramm wiegt diese für die Pariser Glitzerwelt in den 1950 und 60er Jahren handgefertigte Strasskrone. Für die Herstellung brauchte man mehrere Wochen, denn die bis zu 500 Strasssteine wurden einzeln mit Spezialklammern im Rohteil befestigt. Kaum zu glauben, dass es den solcherart „bekleideten“ Damen der Pariser Revuetheater Folie Bergères und Moulin Rouge in nahezu erotisch-graziöser Leichtigkeit gelang, über die Bühne zu tanzen. Seit 1998 befindet sich die Strasskrone im Glasmuseum Wertheim und vermittelt einen Hauch der einstigen Pariser Glamourwelt.

Sprecher

Zu verdanken ist dies dem Sammler Reinhard Seufert aus Stuttgart, der jahrelang an der Herstellung der schillernden Kronen beteiligt war. Seufert arbeitete damals als erster deutscher Modefotograf für die 1910 in Berlin gegründete Lifestyle-Zeitschrift „Elegante Welt“. In der Modemetropole Paris fand er seine „Modelle“. Und fasziniert von der Glamourwelt des Show-Business stieg er selbst in die Herstellung des glitzernden Strassschmucks mit ein.

Sprecherin

Die in den Farben des Regenbogens schillernden Glassteine stammen von der heute im österreichischen Wattens in Tirol ansässigen Firma Swarovski, bekannt für ihre perfekt geschliffenen „künstlichen Kristalle“ aus lupenreinem Glas. Der Firmengründer Daniel Swarovski aus Böhmen hatte 1892 eine revolutionäre Kristallschleifmaschine erfunden. Damit konnte er mehr Kristalle und diese wesentlich präziser schleifen, als es bisher von Hand möglich war.